Hey there!

It looks like you're enjoying SVO Club Of Pat but haven't created an account yet. Why not take a minute to register for your own free SVO Club Of Pat account now? As a SVO Club Of Pat registered user you get free access to our forums and posts plus the ability to post your own messages, communicate directly with other members and much more. Register now!

Already a SVO Club Of Pat member? Login at the top of this page to stop seeing this message.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: 1984 svo project

Noob

1984 svo project

ok so heres the deal, i bought a 84 that had been sitting for 10 years a couple weeks ago to build as a street/strip car. I am new to the ford world you could say and for the last couple weeks ive been trying to gather a basic knowledge of the 2.3 turbo. I would really appreciate any input you guys could give me on what parts to buy and what to do. my issue right now is that the exhaust manifold is cracked and the other 86 motor it came with also has the same crack , ive been looking at the stinger header and maybe a holset hx35? my other question is tuning and the best way to convert to a MAF, i have noticed a number of standalone systems out there but do i need that for a basic bolt on car? im not looking spend alot of money as i have that tied up in other cars :/ ha but im mainly interested in doin most the work myself, learning and having fun with the car! thanks

Some Boost
    These answers are only as researched, I can't corroborate anything about them...

You might want to consider 40bob's log for a header, which comes recommended for being a strong and good header. The turbo is entirely your preference, but turboford, summit racing, and forced4 has great info on all of those options as well as this forum.

Perhaps the LA3 conversion will make it easier to convert to MAF, but that might limit you to only 300hp and I have no direct experience to say if that is true or not since 300hp is my happy limit also.