Thread: Time for a new master cylinder?

Building Boost

Time for a new master cylinder?

Applied the brakes yesterday and the pedal went slowly to the floor. Did have some limited breaking action, but no where near normal.

Tried to pump them up but with little success. Master cylinder is full of fluid, so I'm thinking the seals on the piston might have given up the ghost.
    I'm no expert on brakes though, so what say you. Any advice is much appreciated.

Its my daily driver but I have access to my sons car so I'm not in a great rush, but I still need to get it fixed ASAP.

Thank you for the help.

G57

If you're certain there's no fluid leak, the MC is a logical place to start.
    Bad choices make great stories....!

You can also get O/H kits for them, if you're inclined to rebuild rather than replace.

If you decide to replace, the SVO came with an aluminum body while most of the Lincolns came with cast iron units. SVO aluminum is lighter and correct.

NOTE: The aluminum cylinder bore is hard anodized and MUST NOT be honed. If there's scratches in the bore, it must be replaced.
    Helping SVO owners & racers since 1984

Poll Finds 30% Of Americans Still Undecided Whether To Vote Out Of Fear Or Spite

Building Boost
    Mike,

I don't mind rebuilding it, and would like to keep my aluminum original. I just need to know what kit to get. Do you know of a current part number to order so I know I'm getting the correct kit? I can't just run down to the parts store and return it.

Thanks for the help.

Repair kit:
    RAYBESTOS MK1617 {#TM351617} Professional Grade Info
    $17.85 on rockauto.com

FORD MUSTANG 1984-1986
    LINCOLN CONTINENTAL 1982-1984
    LINCOLN MARK VII 1984

It's a 1.25" bore, btw.

Poll Finds 30% Of Americans Still Undecided Whether To Vote Out Of Fear Or Spite

Quote Originally Posted by MikeFleming View Post
    You can also get O/H kits for them, if you're inclined to rebuild rather than replace.